Since 1996, McGuire, Wood & Bissette, P.A. has called The Drhumor (pronounced "drummer") Building home. The oldest standing commercial building in Downtown Asheville, the Drhumor Building was built in 1895 by William J. Cocke, an attorney who studied at the University of North Carolina and at Harvard. The building was named for the ancestral Irish island of Cocke's Scots-Irish grandfather and rests on the land where Mr. Cocke's childhood home and birthplace once stood.
Architect Allen L. Melton designed the grand Romanesque Revival building and Biltmore Estate stone carver Frederic Miles was commissioned to carve the limestone frieze above the first floor exterior.
In 1993, a partnership of owners of the firm purchased the building. One year later, the firm commissioned an extensive renovation of the building, further evidence of its commitment to Asheville.
Today, The Drhumor Building is a shining example of Downtown Asheville's fascinating history and architecture. It is one of the most popular stops along the Asheville Urban Trail, a self-guided tour of Downtown Asheville's most significant landmarks.